Stay Connected

State Central Executive Committee

The SCEC is the governing body of the Kentucky Democratic Party. Members comprise Democratic activists and leaders from across the Commonwealth, all committed to electing Democrats.

There are presently 51 voting members of the SCEC, including members from each Congressional District, members At-Large, Democratic National Committee representatives and Democratic representatives from the General Assembly. The Presidents of the Kentucky Young Democrats and the Kentucky Democratic Woman's Club also serve as members of the SCEC.

Non-voting members of the SCEC include the Legal Counsel and Treasurer, as well as all statewide elected Democratic Constitutional Officers, U.S. Senators and U.S. Congressmembers.

How do you become a member of the State Central Executive Committee?

Members of the SCEC are elected at the Kentucky Democratic Party Congressional and State Conventions, held during every Presidential election year. They are elected by county-wide and legislative district (Fayette and Jefferson counties) delegates, and serve four-year terms.

The Chief Executive Officers of the State Central Executive Committee are the Chair and Vice-Chair.

For more information, please refer to the bylaws.

Chair & Vice-Chair

Ben Self, Chair
Neville Blakemore, Vice-Chair


Averette, Queenie
Campbell, Susan
Caudill, Alex
Chappell, Crystal
Cherry, Mike
Combs, Don
Ewen, Andrea
Ford, Clay
Ford, Dee Dee
Fossett, Liz
French, Susanna
Garton, Michael
Gilbert, Laken
Graham, Rep. Derrick
Graviss, Joe
Hinkle, Kathy
Hundley, Phinis
Hurt, Daniel
Jerome, Joshua
Johnson, Virginia
Lanshima, Vitalis
Lundergan, Charlotte
McClanahan, Brenda
Meeks, Reginald
Mills, George
Neal, Sen. Gerald
Noble, Jeff
Owens, Col
Palumbo, Rep. Ruth Ann
Pritchett, Herb
Register, Carole
Scott, Travis
Sheckles, Bill
Smith, Nathan
Stammerman, Jim
Stephens, Jeannette
Stewart, Bob
Stocker, Patty
Stubblefield, Kathy Jo
Sykes, Scott
Trumbo, Jeannie
Velasquez, Ariana
Walker, Jack
Ward, Karen
Whalen, Paul
Woodward, Marcus